return to Distance Learning FAQ index

Cambridge Qualifications and Examinations:

How can I find out about recognition of Cambridge qualifications?
The Cambridge International Examination recognition database allows you to search for and identify where and how Cambridge qualifications are recognised by education providers and employers across the world. You can search by country; by different types of recognition and by specific qualifications.

How do I register for Cambridge examinations as a private candidate?
Assessments are primarily designed for students who are studying at centres registered with Cambridge. It is recognised, however, that there are students who may not attend Cambridge schools but who may wish to enter for assessments; such individuals are referred to as private candidates . Entry for assessments can only be made through a registered Cambridge school. The school name will not appear on certificates issued to private candidates.

Where can I take Cambridge examinations as a private candidate?
Entries for our examinations can only be made through registered Cambridge schools. Find your nearest Cambridge school by using the search tool on Cambridge International Examinations website.

What are the entry requirements for taking Cambridge examinations?
Cambridge does not set entry requirements for its examinations.  Some Cambridge schools, however, may have entry requirements, so students should contact the Examinations Officer at their school who will be able to advise further. Syllabus booklets contain information about recommended prior study in each subject.

How much do Cambridge examinations cost?
Cambridge has set fees that they charge schools for their examinations, but schools may charge candidates for the administrative costs they incur in addition to this.

What is HIGCSE?
HIGCSE evolved out of Cambridge's involvement with Namibia. The university entrance level in South Africa is age 17+. IGCSE is regarded as being one year’s study short of this level, so they were asked to expand IGCSE syllabuses in such a way that they would meet the South African entrance requirements, thus enabling Namibians with these qualifications to study in South Africa. The definition of HIGCSE standards is, then, what an IGCSE student would be able to achieve after an additional year’s study. This equivalence has been accepted by the relevant authorities in South Africa, and it is now possible for students with a combination of IGCSE/HIGCSE grades to satisfy South African university entrance requirements. HIGCSE does not really have a relationship with A Level because it is an extension of IGCSE – it is the conclusion of schooling for countries with what we would regard as a 17+ university entrance level. However, insofar as it represents a further year’s study after IGCSE, it can be seen as approximately half way between our 16+ and 18+ qualifications – roughly the same standard as AS. HIGCSE has been withdrawn. The last examination session was in 2010.

Where is Cambridge IGCSE recognised and accepted?
Cambridge IGCSE has exactly the same value as UK GCSE in admitting candidates to institutes of further and higher education. Cambridge IGCSE is comparable with Cambridge O Level and the UK GCSE. Although A Levels are required in many universities, Cambridge IGCSEs are recognised as a reliable record of attainment which counts towards entry to universities and colleges around the world.

Who can take Cambridge IGCSE?
Cambridge IGCSE is designed to be taught as a two year course for candidates aged 14 to 16 years. In some countries Cambridge IGCSE courses last just one year and there are no formal age regulations. In most subjects there is a choice between core and extended curriculum, making Cambridge IGCSE suitable for a wide range of abilities. Students can enter for the level that is most appropriate for them and this need not be the same across all subjects.